Bear Paddling

This year The Black Hearts Hockey Club smashed out our summit theme in true style: Blazed & Confused.
We all dressed the part and came armed with paddles for paddlin’.

Our team has a mass-mix of crafty, designer-y and artsy talented folk. My part this year was to decorate the gift paddles for our opponents and to personalize my own paddle.

The gift paddles got a simple logo drawn on in marker with a reminder to the team of who paddled them on the reverse…   Black Hearts BADASS!

Image

I decided the paddles would be done quicker AND look more like the real deal from the movie if I freehanded the whole thing. Sorry type-geeks. You’re welcome, movie-geeks.

I proceeded to spend a whopping half hour on my own paddle:

Image

I can get by doing design work, typography etc… but it’s not my forte. It takes a lot of time to do what more experienced artists do in minutes. I don’t do much straight up drawing anymore but this bear was a nice reminder of my first love for art, and to try and do more. As a child I would sit and copy picture after picture out of my Dad’s wildlife books.

This bear was drawn with one of those china markers they use at Tim Hortons to write on coffee pots. I haven’t worked there in 15 years or so, but I still think of this whenever using the white markers. 🙂

Here’s a quick snapshot of the tournament and of my ‘Seniors look:

Image

Kelly, a fellow Senior, played some parking lot paddle hockey with TJ. Below that, you can see just how much awesome we bleed!

– bear

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bear Paddling

  1. Laurence says:

    Awesome Bear! Makes me really happy to see all this. Hand drawn is a type of design work we should all do lots of! PS Nice Seniors looks 🙂

  2. Agreed. It’s a great feeling, eh? Xo, Dog

Leave a Reply

